As a follow-up to why you need to get off Facebook, this post will explain how to completely cut ties with Facebook.
Deleting your Facebook Account versus Closing Your Facebook Account
Facebook doesn’t make it easy for this breakup to happen. It would prefer you stick around, be friends with benefits, or linger a bit. While the option of “closing” your Facebook account is easily accessible, it isn’t as easy to “delete” your Facebook account.
The key difference between “closing” and “deleting” your Facebook account is whether or not your data can be recovered. When you close your Facebook account, you can recover everything just the way it was before if you change your mind in the future…and…Facebook is betting that you WILL change your mind. However, if you DELETE your Facebook account, all the data deleted off Facebook and unrecoverable…like a nice, clean break.
Delete Your Facebook Account
Step 1: Download your Data
Facebook let’s you download the data from your Facebook account. What’s included in this download? A lot! Any photos you uploaded, friends list, messages you sent, ads you clicked on, religious views, and all of your posts. Full list. Download this file and store it somewhere safe in case you need to reference it someday.
- Click the upside down arrow in the top right corner and select Settings
- Click “Download a copy of your Facebook data” below your General Account Settings
- Click Start My Archive
Step 2: Delete Your Facebook Account!
Don’t stop now. You won’t miss it.
Within 90 days, Facebook will forget you existed.
Leave a Comment
- Will the Apple Watch Sell or Bomb?
- Amazon’s Sling TV Promo Reviewed